Posted by: Joel | September 30, 2008

What is Culture?

I am reading a fascinating book by Andy Crouch called Culture Making: Recovering Our Creative Calling. His goal in this book is to bring Christians back to their creational calling to participate in making something of the world God gave us. He divides his book into three sections: 1) Culture, in which he seeks to give us a new understanding of this word and the reality it represents [1]; Gospel (biblical story), in which he seeks to open us up to a new way of reading the biblical story as it pertains to life in our Father’s world; and Calling, in which he seeks to help us to understand our role in this picture of ‘Culture’ and ‘Gospel’.

I am putting together an evening of discussion on this book for <a href=”http://www.kuyperscafe.blogspot.com”>Kuyper’s Cafe</a>, so I need to give it a good read. It is very interesting and important stuff, so I’ll try to post some summaries of the book as I go along. I highly recommend it so far though (four chapters into the ‘Culture’ section).

<hr>[1] Apparently I have a representationalist view of language.

Responses

  1. Excellent. I have come across many great reviews of this book from some solid people. Now I am sure that I am going to order it soon. It will be a great addition to my bookshelf.


Leave a Reply

Categories

